Local News

Rooney won’t face GOP primary

— Congressman Tom Rooney won’t have a Republican opponent.

Erin Kent Magee, a Lehigh Acres Republican, did not qualify for the 2014 race, according to the Florida Elections Commission. The Federal Election Commissioned showed Magee filed a statement of candidacy in May 2013 but never filed a financial report for 2014.

Magee was one of two opponents Rooney, R-Okeechobee, faced in 2012. The other, William Emery Bronson, a Democrat, also of Lehigh Acres, did qualify for the 2014 primary.

Magee lost to Rooney by 17 percent of the vote in the 2012 GOP primary; Bronson, a retired Delta Air Lines pilot, polled 116,000 votes in the 282,000 ballot Nov. 6, 2013 general election.

Another Democrat filed on March 13 for District 17, but did not qualify to meet Bronson in the Aug. 26 Democratic primary. Allen L. Ellison, 34, was born in Avon Park, raised in Wauchula and graduated from Hardee High School.

Bronson had raised only $7,833, according to his last FEC filing. Rooney’s war chest contains $466,403.

Peter Estrada qualified to run for circuit court judge in district 10. He will not have an opponent.

Thirteen judge candidates will run for 11 seats. Michelle Pincket will meet Christine Trakas Thornhill for seat 2; and Taylor Davidson is challenging Larry Helps for seat 16.

Qualifying for state, county and local offices opens at noon June 16 and ends at noon June 20.

Sen. Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton, who represents southern Highlands County, still does not have an opponent.

Tony Jerome Munnings, a Democrat, has filed for state representative in District 55. The incumbent is Dr. Cary Pigman, who has also filed for re-election.

Anthony Ritenour has no opponent yet for the county court judge’s seat.

Other seats: county commissioner district 2, Don Elwell; county commissioner district 4, Jack Richie; school board district 1, Charlene Edwards, Al Joe Hinson and Ronnie Jackson; school board district 4, Bill Brantley; school board district 5, Jill Compton, Clinton Culverhouse, William “Pop” Hutchinson III, Trevor Murphy, Tres Stephenson III and Dustin Woods; and Sun N’ Lake of Sebring board of supervisors, Dick Miller.