Local News

Three seniors receive scholarships

—At the 21st annual Alan Jay Automotive Network and Greater Sebring Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Awards luncheon, three scholarship recipients were chosen but all the student candidates went home with something.

There were eight “Student of the Month” award winners throughout the year: Marissa Andujar, Cody Crivello, Gary Demarest Jr., Micaela DeVane, Branden Griffin, Jared Lang, Angie Patino and SaraBeth Rogers.

“Of those interviewed, the very difficult decision had to be made to determine the winners of the scholarship,” a news release states.

Finally, three were chosen: Rogers received $3,000, Lang received $2,000, and Patino received a $1,000 scholarship.

The scholarship is applicable to their tuition, school fees and/or books, and they may use it for up to six years, for undergraduate or graduate school.

Each student also was given a “swag bag” full of prizes, including a $250 gas card, restaurant gift certificates, movie gift cards, Walmart gift cards, and more, thanks to numerous community and chamber member sponsors.

The scholarship luncheon was well attended, and $4,850 was raised by those in attendance. Alan Wildstein of Alan Jay Automotive Network pledged to double that amount, making the day’s pledges to $9,700.

Don Elwell of Alan Jay noted that this was the largest attendee contribution that he recalls in the past years.

In addition, Azure College sponsored the cost of the luncheon, allowing all the money given at the event to be placed directly into the hands of future scholarship recipients, the news release adds.