Local Sports

Porsche dominates Hall of Fame

SEBRING INTERNATIONAL RACEWAY - One of the marquee sports car racing teams of all time was honored Friday by being inducted into the Sebring Sports Car Racing Hall of Fame, along with its founder and lead driver.

Both Brumos Racing and the late Peter Green were among the inductees. Gregg led Brumos Racing, based in Jacksonville, throughout most of the 1970s and 80s, making the famed red, white and blue No. 59 entry one of the most dominant forces in sports car racing.

Brumos has entered the Sebring 12 Hours 20 times, claiming one overall and three class victories.

Hurley Haywood, who holds the record with 28 Sebring starts, is still associated with Brumos Porsche, but has retired from driving race cars.

Haywood made his last Sebring start in 2000, and was inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame in 2008.

"If Peter was with us, he would have two questions: what took you so long (to induct Brumos) and why the hell did you put Hurley Haywood into the Hall of Fame ahead of me," Haywood laughs.

Peter died in 1980. Known as "Peter Perfect" his sports car legacy is still highly regarded. Gregg won Sebring overall in 1973 co-driving with Hurley Haywood and Dr. Dave Helmick.

Gregg also has two class wins at Sebring (1970, 72) and four victories in the Rolex 24 at Daytona. Gregg won six IMSA GT championships and two Trans-Am Championships during his stellar career.

Simon Gregg accepted the Hall of Fame award for his father, and Dan Davis represented Brumos Racing.

Other Sebring Raceway Hall of Fame inductees Friday were Wayne Taylor, Vic Elford and Bob Tullius.

Wayne Taylor won the 1996 Sebring 12 Hours co-driving with Eric van de Poele and Jim Pace in an Oldsmobile-powered Riley & Scott chassis.

It marked the first time in 27 years an American manufacturer won Sebring. He also finished third in 1994. Taylor has won the Rolex 24 at Daytona twice and also won the inaugural Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta in 1998.

He currently campaigns the No. 10 Corvette DP prototype in the new Tudor United SportsCar Championship, driven by his sons.

Vic Elford won the 1971 Sebring 12 Hours co-driving a Porsche 917 with Gerard Larrousse. He also finished second at Sebring in 1968, the same year he won the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Elford won class twice at the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1967, 73) and has 13 F1 World Championship starts to his credit.

Bob Tullius and his Group 44 team pioneered the concept of professional motorsports with immaculately prepared race cars and transporters.

His first of 14 starts at Sebring came in 1963 at the wheel of a Triumph TR-4. Tullius won the GTO category in his Group 44 TR-8 and finished fourth overall in 1985 driving his Jaguar GTP prototype.

The Sebring Hall of Fame, founded in 2002 during the track's 50th anniversary, now includes 30 drivers, six promoters, four officials, and six manufacturers/teams.