Streaks splash to win

SEBRING - The Blue Streaks looked pretty comfortable in their own pool on Thursday afternoon, winning the first home swim meet of the season against Avon Park, Okeechobee, and Hardee. Sebring's girls finished with the highest point totals of the afternoon, piling up 138. Okechobee was next with 118, while Avon Park was third with 81 with Hardee rounding out fourth place with 79. The Blue Streaks boys cruised as well, finishing in first place with 130.5 points. Avon Park placed second with 116, followed by Hardee in third with 96, while Okeechobee finished last with 88.5. Sebring's Clara Simpson had a stellar afternoon, winning the 200-yard individual medley with a time of just over two minutes and 54 seconds. She also finished second in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:26.67.
A major factor in the relays, Simpson helped Gabbriella Dion, Dominique Juliano and Rachel Todd win the 200 medley relay in 2:15.72, and was also instrumental on the 400 freestyle team. Comprised of Dion, Dominique, and Kaitlyn Smith, and Simpson, the girls finished second with a time of 4:41.57. Sebring's other first individual winners on the girls side came from Todd, who captured the 100 freestyle with a time of 1:07.97, Sara Bohan, who won the 1-meter dive with a score of 205.87, and Dion took home the 200 freestyle with a time of 2:31.32. Other Blue Streaks standouts included Anna Freitas, who finished third in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:37.90, Dominique Juliano, who finished second in the 100 butterfly and 200 IM with times of 1:17.57 and 2:45.22, respectively, while Kaitlyn Smith finished second in the 200 freestyle at 2:32.84. Not to be outdone by their female counterparts, Sebring's boys had a solid afternoon as well. Samuel Smith won two races, capturing the 100 backstroke and the 200 individual medley with times of 1.06.00 and 2:27.72, respectively. Jacob Livingston won his race as well, winning the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:08.32. Livingston also placed third in the 500 freestyle with a time of 6:51.01. Meanwhile, Byron Cobb completed the diving sweep for Sebring, taking home first place with a score of 226.15. Tevin Bullard and Luke Smith also swam well, with Bullard coming in second in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:08.47 while Smith finished third in the 100 breaststroke at 1:28.42. In the team events, the Blue Streaks boys failed to match the success of the girls, but did place second in the 200 medley relay and third in the 200 and 400 freestyle relays. Avon Park, Hardee, and Okeechobee had its share of highlights as well. Aubrie Reister and Billie Levitt paced Okeechobee's girls with three combined wins, as Reister captured the 50 freestyle in just under 30 seconds with a time of 27.38 while Levitt won the 500 freestyle in 7:37.59. Reister also helped teammates Hunter Bosworth, Morgan Bolan, and Christina Orender win the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 4:35.19. For the Brahman boys, Nathaneal Bean captured the 200 freestyle in 2:12.06 and paced teammates William Castillo, Trey Howard, and Brandon Ball to a second place finish in the 200 freestyle relay. Hardee had four fist place finishes, with two coming thanks to Cody Spencer, who won the boys 100 breaststroke in 1:19.93, and Levi Lovett, who won the 500 freestyle with a time of 6:11.01. The Wildcats other two wins came in the relays, also on the boys side. Spencer, Lovett, Wyatt Zeigler, and Kevin Borjas downed Okeechobee in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:58.36, just edging the Brahmans 3:59.79. The same group also won the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:58.97. Not to be forgotten, the Red Devils turned in stellar performances as well. Steven New won two races for the Avon Park boys, capturing the 100 freestyle with a sizzling 55.39 and won the 50 freestyle in 23.41. Hannah Farr gave the Red Devils girls their only individual first place finish, winning the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:24.32. Meanwhile, the Red Devils relay teams each won the 200 freestyle. Mikaela Talley, Tammy Hutchins, Kasey Starling, and the aformentioned Farr finished with a time of 2:00.37 while the boys, consisting of New, Koy McGrath, Domonic Hutchins, and Josh Williams, captured first place in 1;43.93. 863-386-5841